LSF2010: Should I overcome my dread and become a great pitcher or write more specs instead of worrying about the bloody notes?

I told you previously that I was eager to attend the Writer Notes seminar, haven’t I? (check the post) It was not a dilemma at all… back then. Now it has become a big one.

Looking at the LSF 2010 schedule more attentively, I realised that on Friday, 4pm, screenwriter Stuart Hazeldine, alongside Ollie Madden and Nik Bower will discuss: Should I Write a Spec Script? Well I have written two specs so far – one has a chance of being produced, the other, well, not so much… My question, in this case, would be: Should I continue investing time and energy in writing specs? What are the real chances of having a spec script commissioned?

When I first offered to write a script in exchange for a chance having it read by an agent, I didn’t even know that this was called “writing a spec script”. I thought my request was something short of absurd, to be honest. Actually, it worked and this spec has become a project with a chance of becoming a film. This isn’t always the case, but specs can be your entry into the industry even if the scripts themselves never make it to the screen. What people usually tell me is that spec scripts can showcase your writing and this can land you a commission. I’d definitely like to hear more about that.

At the same time, on Friday, Julian Friedmann will be giving us advice on Becoming a Great Pitcher. Julian is a very experienced agent (and pitcher) from both sides of the fence – pitching and being pitched to – so this one is a MUST GO. Why? Because I totally suck at pitching. It’s sad but true. I dread pitching. It makes my stomach churn. My voice disappears, my hands go all over the place, and I go on and on and on until I lose track of what I was saying… It’s dreadful. I heard from fellow screenwriters that, in time, pitching becomes sort of a second nature, like driving a car, riding a bicycle… I certainly hope so. Until then, I have to make the best use of all advice I can get.

What choices will you make? The script gurus say that the choices we force our characters to make define them. Do our choices at LSF 2010 define us? Or just our weaknesses?

Have you booked your ticket with TwelvePoint already? By doing so, I’ll get a £37 discount if you quote “twelvepoint“.

Oli Lewington continues giving out some useful advice on his daily blog. It’s a special Countdown to look at ‘how you can get the most from your weekend and the biggest bang for your buck’. Today’s post is about the Festival’s Nitty-Gritty: “You’re primed and ready to make your assault on the first room of the day – networking over breakfast with people you don’t know, or walking into a room full of strange faces (in the unknown sense, not as in all the LSWF delegates are alien-freaks). How do you do this thing?” Check it out!

Leave a Reply

